Student Government Association campaigning underway

Student Government Association campaigning underway

Amanda Bagnall-Newman, Website Editor

March 23 marked the beginning of Student Government Association campaigning.

Today the Meet the Candidates Debate will be held from 11 a.m. until 12 p.m. in Laun 209.

Each candidate will be given approximately two minutes to introduce themselves and explain why they are running for their position. There will be five minutes of question and answer from the audience after each person’s position.

Candidates will be divided into two groups, the first comprising of those running for president, executive vice president, vice president of academic affairs, vice president of budget and finance, vice president of public relations, vice president of student affairs and vice president of student services. The second candidate group will hold candidates for senators for the business division, creative arts division, education division, humanities division, natural science division and social science division.

Voting will begin Monday, April 11 and run until Friday, April 15. Polling stations will be set up in the Campus Center Lounge and will be staffed by Ryan Opahle, Associate Advisor for Student Government Association, and members of the Student Success and Engagement Team.

No candidates or delegates will be allowed in the direct voting area to avoid over-the-shoulder campaigning. Students will be required to submit their student ID to verify accuracy and to maintain fairness.

Students will have the option to select multiple candidates who have entered the election on one running platform by checking one box. All candidates will also be listed individually excluding president and executive vice president, who can only be voted as a pair.

Also, on the ballot there will be a section to vote to approve the proposed Student Government Association Constitution.

There will be a campaign rally held Tuesday,  April 12 in Bossard Hall between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. All candidates will be mingling with prospective voters, available to receive feedback and to share their agenda. Refreshments will be provided.

Election results will be announced Monday, April 18 at 12:30 p.m. A college-wide email will be distributed through the Lakeland communications department.

An Inauguration Luncheon will be held Tuesday, April 19 in the 1862 Lounge between 11 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. for the newly appointed government leaders.

For more information or for any questions, email Opahle at [email protected] or contact the Student Success and Engagement Team.


Listed below are the running candidates.

President/Executive Vice President:

–Nate Cooper/Joseph Legate (Student Integration Movement)

–Zach Mock/Jared Nummerdor (The Seven Muskieteers)

Vice President of Academic Affairs:

–Christian Gillaspie (SIM)

Vice President of Budget & Finance:

–Michael Whitley (SIM)

–Matt Seider (T7M)

Vice President of Public Relations:

–Austin Hansen (SIM)

–Emma Schad (T7M)

Vice President of Student Affairs:

–Avinash Limbu (SIM)

Vice President of Student Services:

–Dorah Owango (SIM)

–Joshua Hogan (T7M)

Senator, Business Division:

–Aaron Barth (T7M)

Senator, Creative Arts Division:

–Amanda Bagnall-Newman (Independent)

Senator, Natural Sciences Division:

–Brett Singh Sharkey (T7M)