Many honored at banquet

Karalee Manis, Managing Editor

At the annual Honors Convocation Awards Banquet, held Wednesday, April 6 in a transformed half of Bossard Hall, many gathered for a night to honor outstanding students and faculty.

The first and only faculty award of the night was the Underkofler Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, which went to David Lynch, instructor of interdisciplinary studies and Chinese.

To present this award, Associate Professor of History Rick Dodgson performed a speech in rap form, saying of the recipient, “You can rest assured, he’s thoroughly deserved of this award. He ain’t no dupe and he ain’t no fraud, his students tell me that they’re never bored. And he got more votes than all his peers, so the prize is his after all these years.”

Lynch has been with the college for 18 years and has been described as a dynamic and fun instructor by his students. Students also noted that he excels at utilizing visual media in the classroom for a better learning experience.

Once the Underkofler was awarded to Lynch, who gave no speech, the banquet progressed with dinner, followed by a slew of student awards.

The most notable of these awards was the Clarence H. Koehler Campus Senior Award, which was presented to Callie Olson, religion and nonprofit double major.

According to Lakeland Today, “The Koehler Award is presented each year to a Lakeland senior who best exemplifies ‘The Lakeland Spirit’ by his or her participation in and support of the college’s programs and activities. To be eligible, graduates must complete all four undergraduate years at Lakeland and maintain a high level of academic achievement.”

Olson has been a member of the women’s basketball team for the past four years, has been a resident assistant, a Lakeland Presidential Scholarship recipient, a repeat member of the Dean’s list and more.

Of receiving this award, Olson said, “My experience here at Lakeland has been nothing short of spectacular. While here at Lakeland, God has been incredibly gracious and patient with me as I’ve grown up and found myself and my calling. And although some may say different, I would argue that this award is not a reflection of what I’ve done, but a reflection of what Lakeland can do for an individual. It’s changed my life. I am forever grateful for all the staff and faculty who have invested in me. It always has been and always will be an honor and privilege to call myself a Muskie.”

Additional award recipients of the night included:


Business Administration

Outstanding Student in Accounting: Thomas Panzer

Outstanding Student in Hospitality Management: Janel Weir

Outstanding Student in Marketing: Hollie Erdmann

Outstanding Student in Business Administration: Mitchell Fucile

Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Award: Steven Canales


Creative Arts

Outstanding Student in Communication: Amanda Smith

Outstanding Music Student: Siera Ramirez

Outstanding Music Education Student: Tia Pribbernow

Outstanding Theatre Student of the Year: Tia Pribbernow

Outstanding Student in Writing: Leah Ulatowski



Outstanding Student in Education: Karissa Anderson



Outstanding Student in Spanish: Chloe Reed

Outstanding Student in Spanish: Janel Weir


Natural Science

Outstanding Senior in Biology: Cassandra Mueller

Outstanding Senior in Chemistry: Audrey Nichols

Outstanding Student in Exercise Science: Alyssa Ciepley

Outstanding Student in Exercise Science: Trista Barron

Outstanding Student in Mathematics: Michele Marquardt

Outstanding Student in Aviation – Smooth Operator Award: Peter Ludolph


Social Science

Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice: Matthew Derse

Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice: Hollie Blum

Outstanding Student in History: Suzette Rosas

Outstanding Student in History: Steven Wodrich

Outstanding Student in Psychology: Grace Vos


Ellen J. Kregel Athletic Award: Callie Olson


Lakeland College Japan

Outstanding Student at Lakeland College Japan: Andressa Sacht


Senior Honors

Leah Ulatowski, Katherine Zielsdorf, Stephanie Burgardt, Cassandra Mueller, Kaitlin Deschane, Megan Gomez, Heather Ross


Who’s Who

Amanda Bagnall-Newman, Trista Barron, Steven Canales, Megan Gomez, Bailey Grayvold, Le’Shay Jones, Emma Landowski, Danielle Livingston, Peter Ludolph, Karalee Manis, Jacob Nault, Suzette Rosas, Heather Ross, Amanda Smith, Brooke Wilder-Corrigan, Samantha Williams, Katherine Zielsdorf